clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.co

commit error. suggest discuss. Write PM, will..

Menu

Category: Classical

Van Morrison - In The Days Before Rock N Roll (Vinyl)

24.10.2019 Zugal 9 Comments

He seems to me to be wholly mad and wholly sane simultaneously — ideal territory for a poet to occupy. Who is Justin? Just a name plucked out of the air for its sound, its comparative rarity in a world awash with Jims and Georges and Pauls? Just a thought but it strikes me as not insignificant that an Irish poet from the latter half of the twentieth century would use a name which happens to be the little know second name of the greatest Irish poet of that era: Seamus Justin Heaney!

Vintage radios such as those made by the Telefunken Company in Berlin were gorgeously tactile objects. Radios, humming with valve power and gleaming with polished wood, bakelite and glass, softly lit, took pride of place in our homes in the days before Televisions took up their imperial dominance in our living rooms. No point and shoot remotes then! Radios were switched on and off and tuned to stations using knobs that clunked satisfyingly into position and dials that you set spinning to call up and capture sounds from distant lands beamed in from the ionosphere.

The very air crackled with possibility as you waited for the signal to settle as you settled down to laugh along your favourite comedians, sing along with your favourite singers, gasp at the heroics of your favourite detective or be amazed by a discovery as the spinning dial led you into imaginative territory you had never dreamed existed. Radios conjured up dreams, created communities of interest and painted pictures that seared into our memories.

Radio, despite all the technological developments of the last few decades remains the dreamers ideal companion. Tune in! One of the great pleasures of vintage radio was discovering what programmes were made by exotically named radio stations broadcasting from places which often had to be looked up on an atlas to see where they were! Not knowing what you might find and be introduced to was exciting and expanded our cultural horizons.

As you scanned the stations on the radio dial even reciting their names became a form of litany — clearly recognised above by Paul Durcan who has a genius for incantatory recitation. Radio Luxembourg had a very powerful signal on metres Medium Wave which washed tidally over the British Isles bringing many young people their first regular exposure to those new fangled musics their parents just knew were no good for them.

Luxembourg, in contrast to the BBC, was a commercial station which meant it was happy to devote whole programmes to showcasing the new releases from record labels such as Capitol and Phillips. Athlone is a historic Irish town on the shores of the River Shannon. From the s to the s the principal transmitter for Irish radio was located in Athlone and the Irish national radio station came to be known on radio dials all over the world as Athlone.

Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July General Comment I'm fairly certain this song is about how Europeans found American roots to rock and roll on the dials of European radios.

But who is Justin referred to in this song? There was an error. Yes that's my question too, who is Justin. Maybe he's just the 'gentle' spirit of the age that they miss in today's more competitive world. Flag roosteroso on July 26, I think it's Justin Hayward of the Moody Blues. Tuesday Afternoon, Nights in White Satin. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Van Morrison. Archived from the original on 22 July Retrieved Blowin' Your Mind!

Enlightenment (Vinyl): Morrison, Van: clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.coinfo: Music. Skip to main clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.coinfo Try Prime EN Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Returns & .

9 thought on “Van Morrison - In The Days Before Rock N Roll (Vinyl)”

  1. Mezisho says:
    Van Morrison - In the Days Before Rock N Roll - 7 Inch Vinyl (45) Product details. Vinyl; Number of Discs: 1; Label: Polydor; ASIN: B00DGOFTP8; Customer Reviews: Be the first to write a review; Would you like to tell us about a lower price? If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?
  2. Fenrishicage says:
    Label: Polydor - STARL • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: South Africa • Genre: Rock • Style: Blues Rock, Folk Rock Van Morrison - Enlightenment (, Vinyl) | Discogs Explore4/5(3).
  3. Mezishakar says:
    Enlightenment is the twentieth studio album by Northern Irish singer-songwriter Van clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.coinfo was released in and reached #5 in the UK charts and "Real Real Gone" charted at #18 in Mainstream Rock Tracks.. The June re-issued and re-mastered version of the album contains alternative takes of "Enlightenment" and "So Quiet in Here"."Start All Over Again" from this album was listed as.
  4. Moogukazahn says:
    Product description. Van Morrison - Enlightenment - Cd clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.coinfo Its title seems squarely in the pilgrim's camp, where much of Van Morrison's '80s music dwells, but 's Enlightenment offsets new glimpses of Morrison's oft-sought Avalon ("Avalon of the Heart") with darker confessions of human frailty and challenged faith. The opening "Real Real Gone" belies its hard-charging R&B verve (a /5().
  5. Yojas says:
    Jul 21,  · Together with fellow Irishman and fellow dreamer, poet Paul Durcan, he would dramatise those dreaming days in a song, ‘In The Days Before Rock ‘n’ Roll’ – a song which would catalogue some of the signposts of those dreams in a performance which has something of the hyper real, time slipping, giddy character of a waking dream.
  6. Teran says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of In The Days Before Rock 'N' Roll on Discogs. Label: Polydor - VANS 7,Polydor - • Format: Vinyl 7 Van Morrison - In The Days Before Rock 'N' Roll (, Vinyl) | Discogs/5(5).
  7. Nalmaran says:
    9 rows · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Van Morrison - In The Days /5(7).
  8. Voodoosar says:
    Get the best deals on Van Morrison Rock Vinyl Records when you shop the largest online selection at clubexandalynewlapeconmembspanat.coinfo Free shipping on many items Van MORRISON Roll With Orig UK 12" GOLD VINYL Records x2 Sealed Ltd Ed of 1, $ Guaranteed 3 day delivery. Van Morrison - Moondance - LP. $ 0 bids.
  9. Kijin says:
    This song lists singers who influenced the youthful Van Morrison including Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Jerry Lee Lewis and Little Richard. He also refers to Radio Luxembourg to which thousands of British and Irish teenagers in the s, '60s, and '70s would tune in to on their primitive radios, despite the poor reception, because it played the pop music they wanted to hear.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Education WordPress Theme By Logical Themes